top of page
Empathings Logo TRANSPARENT No Paint.png

feeling open?

feeling creative?

feeling compassionate?

You're in the right place.

Empathings Blog is all about sharing our

thoughts and ideas with those around us. 

Creativity fuels everything! Artsy or not, there is beauty, meaning, and empathy to be had.

My blog examines small and wide corners of artistic brilliance, eager to shed light on them.

 

Intrigued by the idea of an empathetic universe?

Wish the world carried their hearts on their sleeves instead of locked away in a rib cage?

Me too. So let's talk about it!

Did Someone Say Lavender Cupcakes??

The other day, a dear friend of mine sent me a recipe for Lavender Cupcakes with Honey Cream Cheese Frosting. Hold on...

It was lovely to have an exciting new recipe to try. Lavender was the only thing we didn’t already have. Find the full recipe here by Patricia Burnett at Local Hive. I’m such a fan of lavender tea and all sorts of its cosmetic and essential oil products. It’s one of my favorite scents. It’s the best for calming the senses and feeling relaxed. So what would it be like to eat…?


Not too complex or time-consuming, this recipe is good for beginner bakers and pros alike. Mix the cake batter and bake it. While that cools, create the lushious frosting and refrigerate it. When everything has cooled, pop that silky yumminess on top of the baked yumminess and sprinkle a little lavender on top. 




Sounds great, right? But wait. While fresh cupcakes are moist and fluffier, I found these cupcakes to be even BETTER the next day. While the cake may have firmed up slightly, the frosting settled creating a different experience. The lavender became more potent and aromatic. Taking a bite of this version made my mouth feel just like when my body sits in a lavender bubble bath. Call me dramatic, but it was heavenly. 



I call all lavender lovers to order some culinary lavender and treat yourself to this recipe! And then tell me about it!


While we didn't make banana pancakes, I felt a similar coziness when I heard this song. Enjoy. :)


Well, can't you see that it's just raining?

There ain't no need to go outside

But baby, you hardly even notice

When I try to show you

This song is meant to keep ya

From doing what you're supposed to

Like waking up too early

Maybe we can sleep in

I'll make you banana pancakes

Pretend like it's the weekend now

And we can pretend it all the time, yeah

Can't you see that it's just raining

There ain't no need to go outside


- "Banana Pancakes," Jack Johnson


Happy baking,

Join my mailing list to read new posts!

Cover Photo by Abigail Cline


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

JOIN THE CLUB

Want to interact with others in this community?

STAY POSTED

Don't want to miss a post?

Join my mailing list!

YES AND?

Want to join

the conversation?

TWO CENTS

Do you have a story

that I should tell? 

bottom of page