top of page
Empathings Logo TRANSPARENT No Paint.png

feeling open?

feeling creative?

feeling compassionate?

You're in the right place.

Empathings Blog is all about sharing our

thoughts and ideas with those around us. 

Creativity fuels everything! Artsy or not, there is beauty, meaning, and empathy to be had.

My blog examines small and wide corners of artistic brilliance, eager to shed light on them.

 

Intrigued by the idea of an empathetic universe?

Wish the world carried their hearts on their sleeves instead of locked away in a rib cage?

Me too. So let's talk about it!

The Community of Christmas Concerts


It’s the most wonderful time of the year, right? Everyone is feverishly preparing family gatherings and finding the perfect gifts for their loved ones. Christmas music is amongst the most popular and anticipated music of the year. This holiday season I was lucky enough to participate in a Christmas concert at a Methodist church in Orlando. While I don’t attend this church regularly, I felt welcomed and glad to be part of their holiday festivities.


Their “This is Christmas” concert featured an orchestra, large adult choir, youth choir, children’s choir, and an actor that helped thread the evening along. I am grateful to have played the Upright Bass for the orchestra. The arrangements were beautiful! Being close to the front row of the audience, I had the chance to see many of the up-close reactions to our performance. Everyone seemed quite touched by the music and the actor’s interludes that encouraged us to take a moment to remember the religious spirit of the season.


The opportunity of this concert holds a special place in my heart. All of the music brought people together. It made hundreds of people feel joy about why we’re all here. The soloists brought the audience to tears and the children’s choir made the entire sanctuary beam from all the cuteness! Many people came up to us orchestra members afterwards and thanked us for offering our talents so they could further appreciate the spirit of Christmas. There’s something magical about orchestras and choirs because it’s about all the people, you can’t do it alone.


As someone who isn’t particularly religious, Christmas is in a weird spot for me. Christmas is a beautiful holiday that brings most people back to their core values and faith. I certainly appreciate the quality time with family and the spirit of giving it suggests but I can’t help but feel a little “left out” since I don’t closely relate to its main theme. However, I do take this time to be reflective and grateful for the year I’ve had and to revitalize my goals for the new year. Hopefully everyone finds something to hold onto during the holidays.


Have a wonderful holiday and never take the things that bring us together in community for granted, whatever they may be!


Happy Holidays,

Join my mailing list to read new posts!

Cover Photo by RalfUnstet

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

JOIN THE CLUB

Want to interact with others in this community?

STAY POSTED

Don't want to miss a post?

Join my mailing list!

YES AND?

Want to join

the conversation?

TWO CENTS

Do you have a story

that I should tell? 

bottom of page